Vibration Therapy

      GFU Logo              Providence Logo

Overview: 

The children at the Providence Center for Medically Fragile Children suffer from profound disabilities, and are in need of complex medical needs. Due to these disabilities they all need wheel chairs to move around. It is because of this that these children develop extreme cases of osteoporosis. This disease makes their bones really delicate and prone to fracture when children are being moved by volunteers or nurses. George Fox University in partnership with Providence Health & Services have decided to take action to help these children and nurses so their stay at the center is a more pleasant one.

Therapy Description:

Vibration therapy uses kinetic vibration to cause movement and circulation in tissue, with the aim to assist in stretching, breaking down of scar tissue, or improving the musculoskeletal system.

Over the last decade, NASA used it with their astronauts so that they wouldn't develop osteoporosis due to being in zero-gravity. The studies show that vibrating the body at appropriate frequencies and amplitudes can cause an increase in bone density. George Fox University was presented with the challenge of replicating the system and results obtained by NASA in order to improve the bone density of the children at Province Health Center.

It is George Fox’s objective to develop a vibration system that will help kids with limited motor skills. By the end of this project, children will be using a safe and effective vibration therapy system that will not only increase their bone density, but it will also help their blood circulation

Vibration Therapy


 

Status:
TBA
 
Possible Solutions:

TBA

Design & Legacy Teams:

.

Current Design Team
Name Concentration E-mail
Melissa Cousins Mechanical mcousins09@georgefox.edu
Sarah Miller Electrical millers10@georgefox.edu
Peter Vogelezang Electrical pvogelezang09@georgefox.edu
Justin Weatherford Mechanical jweatherford10@georgefox.edu
.
Legacy Team
Name Concentration E-mail
Nathan Fisher Mechanical nfisher09@georgefox.edu
Matthew Halvorson Civil mhalvorson09@georgefox.edu
Andrew Harding Civil aharding09@georgefox.edu
Pedro Munoz Electrical pmunoz09@georgefox.edu
.
Faculty & Consultants:

.

Name Position E-mail
Dr. Robert Harder Faculty Member bharder@georgefox.edu
Dr. Mike Foster Faculty Member mfoster@georgefox.edu
Jeff Leismer Bio-Engineer Consultant jeffleismer@gmail.com
.
Useful Links:

- Client Overview

NASA Article



Learn more about us through the George Fox University Vimeo channel.