2007 Wobble Off Winners

Wobble Off 2007

The freshmen engineering students' demonstrated their first projects in the December 6 design competition - a variety of oscillating steam/air-operated engines. The event highlighted the students' first semester studies in engineering design, solid modeling, and machining, and showcased the creative and impressive results of their design projects. The course is taught by Neal Ninteman. Watch video

The students' engines competed in the following categories:

Wobble Off 2007
  • Maximum Speed
    First Place: Jerred Marshall - 2100 RPM (with 4:1 gear ratio)
    Honorable Mentions: Mitch Keller at 1990 RPM; Cody Curtin at 1760 RPM
  • Maximum Coast
    First Place (Co-Winners): Mandy Cameron and Dan Winterstein
  • Minimum Vibration
    First Place: Jerred Marshall (spring aided!)
  • Cost Efficiency
    First Place: Mitch Keller - 105 RPM per dollar
    Honorable Mention: Cody Curtin - 101 RPM per dollar
  • Minimum Cost
    First Place: Dusty Ward - $16.61
    Honorable Mentions: Cody Curtin - $17.34; Josh Enobakhare - $18.83; Mitch Keller - $18.85
  • Craftsmanship/Creativity
    First Place (Co-Winners): Bryson Reynolds and Dan Walsh
  • Instructor's Choice Award
    David Masulis
Wobble Off 2007 Wobble Off 2007 Wobble Off 2007