Award Recipients

Director’s Award

The Director’s Award is presented to a student who exemplifies scholarship, excellence in character, the ability to lead, and has demonstrated communication skills both written and oral. This award is the highest honor a student can receive from the Department of Nursing.

2015 - Jonathon Jacobs

2014 - Kimmee Hoecker and Jessica Jocoy

2013 - Lauren Floyd and Emily Wyatt

2012 - Matthew Getsinger and Shaunna Neary

2011 - Rachel Knower

2010 – Hanna Thomas

2009 – Dana Sprunger

2008 – Jodi Briggs


Caring Award

The Caring Award recognizes a graduate who strives to emulate the mission and philosophy of the Department of Nursing. The student regularly integrates faith, compassion, altruism, diversity and holistic health care. The student demonstrates an interest in nursing to the global community and is dedicated to the pursuit of life-long learning.

2015 - Chelsea Glancy

2014 - Mary Jo Pflaum

2013 - Marcus Gabriel, Jr. and Monica VandenBosch

2012 - Alicia Fleetwood and Jacob Trachsel

2011 - Charles Robinson

2010 – Marcie Sternberg

2009 – Alison Bennett

2008 – Emily Christenson

Honor Award

The Honor Award recognizes a graduate who has demonstrated consistently high scholastic achievement (3.75 grade point average or better - calculated through Fall semester of the senior year), professional integrity and potential for leadership in the field of nursing.

2015 - Melissa Stewart

2014 - Kimmee Hoecker

2013 - Angie Miller

2012 - Crystal Enos and Jillian Golder

2011 - Rachel Knower

2010 – Molly Johnston, Marie Palm and Jessie Sarver

2009 – Amy Landes

2008 – Lacey Brounstein

Golden Lamp Award

The Golden Lamp Award will be awarded to a senior student who has shown scholastic achievement, leadership, innovative contributions and humanitarian ideals. Based on the American Nurses Association Code for professional nurses and the Florence Nightingale Pledge, the award recognizes outstanding work of an undergraduate student with the nursing profession.

2015 - Bailey Nelson

2014 - Jessica Jocoy

2013 - Melissa LaRue and Chelse Nealeigh

2012 - Shaunna Neary

2011 - Terah Pugh

2010 – Jessie Sarver

2009 – Kristiina Thomas

2008 – Hannah Bielenberg

Transcultural Nursing Award

The Transcultural Nursing Award honors the graduate who has made an outstanding contribution to the promotion of safe nursing care for individuals, families, and/or groups recognizing diversity, ethnicity and color. This student has shown flexibility and a respect for others view points with a growing cultural understanding and sensitivity.

2014 - Natalie de Jesus Campos

2013 - Page Matlock

2012 - Joelle Gardner and Nadezhda Goldashkin

2011 - Amy Steinert

2010 – Yketerina Fugate

2009 – Lauren Silva and Amy Turner

2008 – Pinar Pakkan-Ince

Clinical Excellence Award

The Clinical Excellence Award honors a graduate who has consistently demonstrated the most outstanding innovation, creativity and insight in nursing practice. This student has consistently met all core competencies and has shown an eagerness to seek out new learning experiences. Staff, colleagues, preceptors and faculty have recognized a positive attitude and rapport throughout their nursing education.

2015 - Elizabeth Morell

2014 - Sarah DeLay

2013 - Lauren Floyd and JulieKay Kleiner

2012 - Audrey Dove and Samantha Simmons

2011 - Rachel Knower

2010 – Torena Cole

2009 – Erica Matthews

2008 – Michael Shinneman

Outstanding Colleague Award

The Outstanding Colleague Award honors a graduate who has been chosen by their peers as exemplifying attributes of collegiality, being a team player, mentorship, support, approachability, honesty, kindness, compassion and respect for others.

2015 - Melanie Hancock

2014 - Erika Moss

2013 - Kelly Hood

2012 - Matthew Getsinger and Shaunna Neary

2011 - Charles Robinson and Sheleen Wytcherley

2010 – Jessie Sarver

2009 – Amy Landes

2008 – Michael Shinneman