Faculty and Staff


The theatre program is made up of two full-time faculty members and several part-time faculty members. The two full-time faculty members are Rhett Luedtke, professor of theatre, who teaches directing, acting, voice and movement; and Bryan Boyd, professor of theatre, who teaches acting, design and theatre history, and serves as director for University Players, our program's touring theatre troupe.

Kathleen Heininge, associate professor of English, teaches dramatic literature, and Gary Tandy, professor of English, teaches Shakespeare as literature. In addition, there are adjunct (part-time) instructors who occasionally teach various courses as needed. Michelle Seaton and Jennifer Davies teach advanced acting courses; Andy Copeland teaches acting one; Mark Eaton teaches playwriting, oral interpretation of literature and theatre as ministry; Thomas Magee teaches improvisation; Laurel Schultz teaches costume design; and Kelly Zakis teaches theatre management.

University Theatre

The University Theatre is the organizing body which produces all main stage productions at George Fox University. Kathy Harris is the administrative secretary for the Department of English and Theatre and a valuable resource for faculty, guest artists, and students. The University Theatre has a costume shop, managed by Alyssa Rands. The theatre Box Office is managed by Kathy Harris. The University Theatre's scene shop is managed by Andy Copeland.

The University Theatre also regularly brings in professional guest artists as designers, directors and lecturers.