Award Recipients

Director’s Award

The Director’s Award is presented to a student who exemplifies scholarship, excellence in character, the ability to lead, and has demonstrated communication skills both written and oral. This award is the highest honor a student can receive from the Department of Nursing.

2018 Jewellyn Bardwell 2013 Emily Wyatt
2017 Katie McNabb 2012 Matthew Getsinger
2016 Malia Rosenlund 2012 Shaunna Neary
2015 Jonathon Jacobs 2011 Rachel Knower
2014 Kimmee Hoecker 2010 Hanna Thomas
2014 Jessica Jocoy  2009 Dana Sprunger
2013 Lauren Floyd 2008 Jodi Briggs

Caring Award

The Caring Award recognizes a graduate who strives to emulate the mission and philosophy of the Department of Nursing. The student regularly integrates faith, compassion, altruism, diversity and holistic health care. The student demonstrates an interest in nursing to the global community and is dedicated to the pursuit of life-long learning.

2018 Jewellyn Bardwell 2013 Monica VandenBosch
2017 Katie McNabb 2013 Marcus Gabriel, Jr.
2017 Allie (Malech) Wegner 2012 Jacob Trachsel
2017 Alex Shepherd 2012 Alicia Fleetwood
2016 Melissa Wilson 2011 Charles Robinson
2016 Megan Palaiyan 2010 Marcie Sternberg
2015 Chelsea Glancy 2009 Alison Bennett
2014 Mary Jo Pflaum 2008 Emily Christenson

Honor Award

The Honor Award recognizes a graduate who has demonstrated consistently high scholastic achievement (3.75 grade point average or better - calculated through Fall semester of the senior year), professional integrity and potential for leadership in the field of nursing.

2018 Kelsey Bennett 2012 Crystal Enos
2017 Emily Dobrinski 2012 Jillian Golder
2017 Megan Roluffs 2011 Rachel Knower
2016 Carrie Thomas  2010 Molly Johnston
2015 Melissa Stewart 2010 Marie Palm
2014 Kimmee Hoecker 2010 Jessie Sarver
2013 Angie Miller 2009 Amy Landes
2008 Lacey Brounstein

Golden Lamp Award

The Golden Lamp Award will be awarded to a senior student who has shown scholastic achievement, leadership, innovative contributions and humanitarian ideals. Based on the American Nurses Association Code for professional nurses and the Florence Nightingale Pledge, the award recognizes outstanding work of an undergraduate student with the nursing profession.

2018 Malachi Teague 2013 Melissa LaRue
2018 Sarah Emerson 2013 Chelse Nealeigh
2017 Emily Hylton 2012 Shaunna Neary
2017 Brandi (Wagoner) Mangione 2011 Terah Pugh
2016 Malia Rosenlund 2010 Jessie Sarver
2015 Bailey Nelson 2009 Kristiina Thomas
2014 Jessica Jocoy 2008 Hannah Bielenberg

Transcultural Nursing Award

The Transcultural Nursing Award honors the graduate who has made an outstanding contribution to the promotion of safe nursing care for individuals, families, and/or groups recognizing diversity, ethnicity and color. This student has shown flexibility and a respect for others view points with a growing cultural understanding and sensitivity.

2018 Cassie Hwa 2013 Page Matlock
2017 Jacques St Gelus 2012 Nadezhda Goldashkin
2017 Nancy Vazquez 2012 Joelle Gardner
2016 Maria Gusenkov 2011 Amy Steinert
2016 Jonathan Maldonado-Salgado  2010 Yketerina Fugate
2015 Alejandro Ruelas 2009 Lauren Silva
2014 Natalie de Jesus Campos 2008 Pinar Pakkan-Ince 

Clinical Excellence Award

The Clinical Excellence Award honors a graduate who has consistently demonstrated the most outstanding innovation, creativity and insight in nursing practice. This student has consistently met all core competencies and has shown an eagerness to seek out new learning experiences. Staff, colleagues, preceptors and faculty have recognized a positive attitude and rapport throughout their nursing education.

2018 Will Leenders 2013 Lauren Floyd
2018 Rachael Krebs 2013 JulieKay Kleiner
2017 Bri Andre 2012 Audrey Dove
2017 Katylnn Harksen 2012 Samantha Simmons
2016 Jonathan Maldonado-Salgado 2011 Rachel Knower
2015 Elizabeth Morell 2010 Torena Cole
2014 Sarah DeLay 2009 Erica Matthews
2008 Michael Shinneman

Outstanding Colleague Award

The Outstanding Colleague Award honors a graduate who has been chosen by their peers as exemplifying attributes of collegiality, being a team player, mentorship, support, approachability, honesty, kindness, compassion and respect for others.

2018 Jessica Taylor 2012 Matthew Getsinger
2017 Eduardo Fuentes 2012 Shaunna Neary
2016 Maria Gusenkov 2011 Sheleen Wytcherley
2015 Melanie Hancock 2011 Charles Robinson
2014 Erika Moss 2010 Jessie Sarver
2013 Kelly Hood 2009 Amy Landes
2008 Michael Shinneman