Faculty & Staff

Heather Ayala

Heather Ayala, PhD

Bio

Office: EHS 215
Phone: (503) 554-2708          
Email:
hayala@georgefox.edu

Research interests: Genomics, genetics of drug resistance in Plasmodium sp. (malaria parasite)
Courses:
General Biology (BIOL 211), Human Anatomy & Physiology (BIOL 331, 332), Invertebrate Zoology (BIOL 460)

Jeffery Duerr

Jeffrey M. Duerr, PhD

Bio

Office: EHS 211
Phone:
(503) 554-2713 - Office
Email:
jduerr@georgefox.edu

Research interests: Cellular bioenergetics, mitochondria
Courses:
General Biology (BIOL 212), Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy (BIOL 322), Human Anatomy & Physiology (BIOL 331), Microbiology (BIOL 367), Cell Biology (BIOL 420), Advanced Human Anatomy (BIOL 450)

Personal web page

Dwight Kimberly

Dwight J. Kimberly, MS

Professor Emeritus

Research interests: Embryology, developmental biology
Courses:
Developmental Biology (BIOL 333)

Don Powers

Donald R. Powers, PhD

Bio

Office: EHS 210
Phone: (503) 554-2705 - Office
             (503) 554-2719 - Lab
Email:
dpowers@georgefox.edu

Research interests: Physiological ecology of animals, Hummingbird physiology, Garter snake reproductive energetics
Courses:
General Biology (BIOL 211), Advanced Physiology (BIOL 333), Ecology (BIOL 360), Ornithology (BIOL 380)

Personal web site
John Schmitt

John M. Schmitt, PhD

Bio

Office: EHS 214
Phone: (503) 554-2712 - Office
Email: jschmitt@georgefox.edu

Research interests: Molecular biology of cancer
Courses: General Biology (BIOL 211), Microbiology (BIOL 370), Molecular Biology (BIOL 410), Biological Explorations (BIOL 490)
James Smart

James Smart, PhD

Office: EHS 213
Phone: (503) 554-2704 - Office
Email: jsmart@georgefox.edu

Research interests: Molecular genetics, Neuroscience
Courses: Foundations of Biology (BIOL 100), General Biology (BIOL 212), Genetics (BIOL 350), Developmental Biology (BIOL 333)

Kathy Weiss

Kathy Weiss, MD

Bio

Office: EHS 212
Phone: (503) 554-2707 - Office
Email: kweiss@georgefox.edu

Research interests: Biomedical science
Courses: Pathophysiology (BIOL 333), Human Anatomy & Physiology (BIOL 331,332), Pharmacology (NURS 350),  Exercise Physiology (HHPE 430)
Lori Scharton

Lori Scharton, Administrative Assistant

Office: EHS 206
Phone: (503) 554-2710 - Office
Email: lscharton@georgefox.edu
Teresa Arnold

Teresa Arnold, Laboratory Coordinator

Office: EHS 315
Phone: (503) 554-2724 - Office
Email: tarnold@georgefox.edu

Learn more about us through the George Fox University Vimeo channel.