Chemistry Faculty

The Chemistry faculty are committed to excellence in teaching and scholarship with a Christian world view. They represent a diversity of graduate training, experiences, and perspectives in the sciences. Because of the demanding and highly competitive nature of science we provide special guidance in course choices, research projects, field experience, future education and career choices.


R. Carlisle Chambers, PhD - Chair, Department of Biology and Chemistry

Carlisle

Bio

Inorganic Chemistry
BA, Milligan College
PhD, Emory University
George Fox University 1994 –
503.554.2706
EHS 312
cchamber@georgefox.edu

Davida Brown, PhD

davida

Bio

Physical Chemistry
BS, George Fox University
PhD, Stanford University
George Fox University 2011 -
503.554.2715
EHS 311
djbrown@georgefox.edu

Paul Chamberlain, PhD

Paul

Organic Chemistry
BA, Point Loma Nazarene College
PhD, University of Nevada, Reno
George Fox University 1977 –
503.554.2702
EHS 310
pchamberlain@georgefox.edu

Jeff Vargason, PhD

Jeff

Bio

Biochemistry
BS, Evangel College
PhD, Oregon State University
George Fox University 2006 –
503.554.2718
EHS 313
jvargason@georgefox.edu

Berkeley Shorthill, PhD

Berkeley

Bio

Environmental Chemistry, Organic Chemistry
BS, George Fox University
PhD, Penn State University
George Fox University 2012
503.554.2710
EHS 315

bshorthill93@georgefox.edu

Estella Rieben, BS

estellarieben

Lab Instructor
BS, George Fox University
George Fox University 1998-
EHS 303
erieben@georgefox.edu

Lori Scharton, Administrative Assistant

Lori Scharton

 EHS 206 - Chemistry office
(503) 554-2710 - Office
lscharton@georgefox.edu

Teresa Arnold, Laboratory Coordinator

Teresa

EHS 325
(503) 554-2724
tarnold@georgefox.edu

Learn more about us through the George Fox University Vimeo channel.