Administrators and Teachers of the Year

The quality of George Fox University’s education programs is reflected in the fact that since 2011, a dozen alumni – representing the school’s many academic programs in the education field – have earned national-, state- and institution-wide awards as principals, vice principals, teachers and administrators.

Oregon Superintendent of the Year (2023)

photo of Dr. Sara Johnson

Dr. Sara Johnson

(EdD, '23)

Crook County School District, Prineville, Oregon

Oregon Assistant Principal of the Year (2021)

photo of La'Shawanta Spears-Hardy

La'Shawanta Spears-Hardy

(MA, School Counseling ’13)

Assistant Principal, David Douglas School District, Happy Valley, Oregon

Oregon Elementary School Principal of the Year (2018)

photo of Perla Rodriguez

Perla Rodriguez

(EdD, ’06)

Echo Shaw Elementary School, Forest Grove, Oregon

Oregon Teacher of the Year (2016)

photo of Heather Anderson

Heather Anderson

(MAT, ’01)

Juniper Elementary School, Bend, Oregon

Faculty Achievement Award for Undergraduate Teaching (2016)

photo of Stephanie Fisher

Stephanie Fisher

(Trad. Undergraduate, ’06)

George Fox University

Arizona Interscholastic Association Administrator of the Year (2015)

photo of Jonathan Rickey

Jonathan Rickey

(Trad. Undergraduate, ’00)

Glendale Preparatory Academy, Glendale, Arizona

Oregon’s Vice Principal of the Year (2014-15)

photo of Duane Larson

Duane Larson

(Trad. Undergraduate, ’90)

Alice Ott Middle School, Portland, Oregon

Assistant Principal of the Year, Oregon Association of Secondary School Administrators (2013)

photo of Michael Ralls

Michael Ralls

(Trad. Undergraduate, ’88)

Milwaukie High School, Milwaukie, Oregon

Bruce and Adaline Bare Outstanding Teacher Award (2012-13)

photo of Michelle Hughes

Michelle Hughes

(EdD, ’14)

Westmont College, Santa Barbara, Calif

National Middle Level Principal of the Year (2011)

photo of Cathy Carnahan

Cathy Carnahan

(Admin. Lic., ’00)

Duniway Middle School, McMinnville, Oregon