Faculty Development Committee

The George Fox University Faculty Development Committee (FDC) was established in 1997 to facilitate professional development and effective teaching through research and to encourage faculty to make research results available to a public forum for professional consideration. Through a generous donation each year the FDC is able to fund a number of summer research grants, research leaves, and faculty writing workshops. 

Each year the FDC is responsible for selecting the winners of the Faculty Achievement Award for Research and Scholarship from nominations submitted by faculty members.  Two awards are given, one for an outstanding undergraduate faculty member and one for an outstanding graduate or George Fox Connect faculty member.  The faculty members selected present their research at two faculty lectures the following academic year.  The Fall Faculty Lecture features the undergraduate recipient of the award, and the Spring Faculty Lecture features the graduate/SPS recipient of the award.

Spring 2022 Faculty Lecture:

     Join us for the Spring 2022 Faculty Lecture featuring Melissa Ramos! 

     Tuesday, March 1st, at 6 pm in Hoover 105. 



Fall 2021 Faculty Lecture:

In case you missed it...

Click here to watch the recording of Fall Faculty Lecture with Lorretta Krautscheid!

 Fall 2021 Faculty Lecture


2021-2022 Faculty Development Committee:
Dawn Ford (Chair)
Daniel Kang
Kristina Kays 
Leah Payne (sabbatical 2021-22)
Alex Rolfe
John Schmitt 
Matt Stump
Chengping Zhang
Andrea Scott (Academic Leadership Team Rep)

2020-21 Faculty Achievement Awards for Research and Scholarship
      Undergraduate - Lorretta Krautscheid, PhD, Associate Professor of Nursing; Chair, College of Nursing
      Graduate/SPS - Melissa Ramos, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies; Director, Seminary Masters Prog.

2021 Summer Grants were awarded to:
Kayt Frisch
Jeongah Kim
Lorretta Krautscheid
Ekaterina Lomperis
Paul Otto

2021-2022 Research Leaves were awarded to:
Ross McCullough
Jeffrey Walters
Dongjun (DJ) Rew